Cocoa Meringue Swirls

This week my much awaited copy of Mimi Thorisson’s cookbook – “A Kitchen In France: A year of cooking in my farmhouse” finally arrived!

mimi thorissonI have many favorite personalities, but I fell in love with her passion in cooking and her fairy tale like life in Medoc France – her kids and dogs are lovable as well so without batting an eyelash I opened an Amazon account and bought her cookbook.

But am in Manila, Philippines – how does that compare? Zilch!

Am not here to compare or live in a pretentious life. Like her I will maximize what I can gather fresh around our area and enjoy cooking for myself and my friends.

And to kick-start my excitement – I picked the easiest recipe on the book, her Chocolate Meringue Swirls (page 198). Her version is divinely gorgeous so I have yet to perfect the swirls for next time. But for now here’s my version of the same recipe. As describe in the book ” it’s slightly soft in the middle, which is the Italian way…” true enough it turned out that way. I’ve always wanted to learn how to make these, but most recipes called for cream of tartar ingredient which I find challenging to find in our area or i’m just clueless which isle in the supermarket i should look. None-the-less – this turned out more that what I expected and eatsgood enough for me!

cocoa meringue | eatsgoodforme

cocoa meringue | eatsgoodformeIngredients

  • 6 large egg whites ( room temperature)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder + more for dusting

Direction

  1. Start to preheat your oven to 275 degrees F/135 degrees C. Place wax/parchment paper onto your tray.
  2. In a large bowl beat egg whites with an electric mixer until they can hold medium peaks. Add a generous pinch of salt and cornstarch and whip. Add the sugar 2-3 tbsp at a time and in between beating with the mixer until all the sugar has been added and the whites are glossy and stiff.
  3. Add the cocoa powder and gently fold to your meringue. With 2 spoons whip a generous portion and place in your prepared tray then gently swirl. When all is done simply dust over your excess cocoa powder.
  4. Bake for an hour – but once timer is done – open the oven door slightly for 10-15 minutes before taking out of the oven. Let it cool generously before taking out of the tray.

Next time if I can find the peppermint extract anytime soon – i would love to test it on this recipe for the coming holidays.

Leave a Reply

