Salted Caramel Sauce: Adapted from Cookingclassy

Once I ran into this recipe on Pinterest, I truly got excited – just because I could already imagine many other sweet recipes I could use this sauce for. So here goes my research and trial from the internet, I found a truly easy and adaptable recipe from www.cookingclassy.com with really great and helpful step-by-step photos for guidance – especially for an idiot like me. Sometimes when I research on recipes, reading thru the process does not do it for me so thanks to this step-by-step photo guide, I truly understood and went thru the process myself with great ease.

salted caramel sauce |eatsgoodforme.wordpress.com

Salted Caramel Sauce – for step-by-step photos refer to www.cookingclassy.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. water
  • 1/4 cup butter (diced into 1 tbsp. pcs.)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose cream (I used Nestle)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt ( I used rock salt)

Direction

  1. Gather and prepare your ingredients beforehand and keep them close.
  2. As cookingclassy indicated – better to use a heavy bottom clear saucepan so you can see the difference easily but if you have none a stainless would most likely suffice. In a med-high heat combine water and sugar together and whisk continuously for the sugar to dissolve.
  3. Once you can see the sugar dissolved you can stop whisking and leave it to boil. At this point it is boiling vigorously so you can stop whisking and observe the changes in color but in between you can swirl the pan once in a while.
  4. Again refer to cookingclassy for photos in the changes in color as reference. Because from clear it slowly changes to amber to deep orange. This takes a while so patience is needed, I for one was doubting my first attempt if I was on track because i felt the heat could dissolve the water and sugar before it even changes color. But it really will change so just be diligent. From deep orange you can now add your butter and whisk to melt. Even if butter is half melting you can now take out from the heat at this point and whisk until butter is integrated with your sugar. At this point your mixture is thicker already.
  5. Slowly add your cream and whisk to combine and reach a shiny caramel color. You can now add your salt and again whisk to combine. Leave to cool before transferring to an air-tight container and refrigerate until your use.

For the cream though – originally it calls for a heavy cream but unfortunately am challenged to find this ingredient in our local groceries – am not even sure if it was going to affect the taste but for me – so far eatsgood enough. I’ll definitely be using this on some of the recipes I have been craving for and share my trials.

Leave a Reply

